Latest news

VASW travel bursary for Build Your Own Art World

Monday 12 March 2018

What does it mean to be artist-led? Is there an alternative to a globalised gallery system? How do you build your own art world? VASW is offering a travel bursary to attend and report back from Build Your Own Art World

VASW appoints three new members to its steering group

Monday 19 February 2018

Visual Arts South West is delighted to welcome three new members to its steering group: Zoe Li, Emily Bull and Lara Goodband.

Read more news


Visual Arts South West is a network creating opportunities for artists, organisations and professionals to develop their practice, share ideas, knowledge & resources, and cultivate relationships. We provide platforms to promote and support the work of the region's visual arts ecology. 

We are part of the national Contemporary Visual Arts Network (CVAN) which is dedicated to working together to realise a stronger visual arts for the benefit of artists, arts organisations and audiences, present and future.


Featured profile

What's on in the South West

Postcards From My Neighbourhood

Aspex Gallery, The Vulcan Building, Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3BF

Wednesday 07 February 2018 – Sunday 15 April 2018

Race, Place and Diversity by the Seaside

The Gallery, Plymouth College of Art, Tavistock Place, Plymouth, PL4 8AT

Thursday 08 February 2018 – Thursday 22 March 2018

Sophie and Ruby Lou's big drink and draw

The Island, The Gallery Space, Bridewell Street, Broadmead, Bristol, BS1 2LE

Saturday 31 March 2018

Botanical Printmaking with the Bristol Print Collective

UWE Bristol, Bower Ashton, BS3 2JT

Wednesday 18 July 2018 – Thursday 19 July 2018

Sawdust and Sequins: The Art of the Circus

Royal West of England Academy of Art, Queen's Road, Clifton, Bristol BS8 1PX

Saturday 24 March 2018 – Sunday 03 June 2018

Jamie Rawlings - Rainbows & Butterflies

That Art Gallery, 17 Christmas Steps, Bristol, BS1 5BS

Friday 23 March 2018 – Saturday 14 April 2018

co|Create â The Art of Creative Journaling

Lonsdale Room, BRLSI, 16-18 Queen Square, Bath BA1 2HN

Tuesday 27 March 2018

Adana Press Workshop

UWE Bristol, Bower Ashton BS3 2JT

Monday 16 July 2018 – Tuesday 17 July 2018

Visual Arts South West

Working towards a South West where talented artists thrive, and a resilient and connected visual arts ecology that inspires more engaged and diverse audiences to value and advocate for its work.

Part of the Contemporary Visual Arts Network

Supported by: