Latest news

VASW travel bursary for Build Your Own Art World

Monday 12 March 2018

What does it mean to be artist-led? Is there an alternative to a globalised gallery system? How do you build your own art world? VASW is offering a travel bursary to attend and report back from Build Your Own Art World

VASW appoints three new members to its steering group

Monday 19 February 2018

Visual Arts South West is delighted to welcome three new members to its steering group: Zoe Li, Emily Bull and Lara Goodband.

Read more news


Visual Arts South West is a network creating opportunities for artists, organisations and professionals to develop their practice, share ideas, knowledge & resources, and cultivate relationships. We provide platforms to promote and support the work of the region's visual arts ecology. 

We are part of the national Contemporary Visual Arts Network (CVAN) which is dedicated to working together to realise a stronger visual arts for the benefit of artists, arts organisations and audiences, present and future.


Featured profile

What's on in the South West

Performance: Beowulf

The House, Plymouth University, PL4 8AA

Wednesday 25 April 2018

Recent Work: Julie Oldfield

The Malthouse Gallery, The Town Mill, Mill Lane, Lyme Regis DT7 3PU

Thursday 19 April 2018 – Wednesday 02 May 2018

Opening Doors

Bishop's Barn, Silver Street, Wells, Somerset BA5 1US

Saturday 24 March 2018

Marking Time: traces of another Jurassic coast

The Courtyard Gallery, The Town Mill, Mill Lane, Lyme Regis DT7 3PU

Friday 27 April 2018 – Wednesday 09 May 2018

Gallery in the Cinema: Eglantine

Plymouth Arts Centre, 38 Looe Street, Plymouth

Tuesday 20 March 2018 – Wednesday 28 March 2018

Ilfracombe Art Trail 2018

Ilfracombe EX34

Saturday 05 May 2018 – Tuesday 07 May 2019

We Are Forest: Preview and Exhibition

Sticks Contemporary, The Precinct, South St

Wednesday 07 March 2018 – Saturday 14 April 2018

Swisherama : Sandy Brown

White Moose Gallery, Trinity Street, Barnstaple, EX32 8HX

Saturday 24 March 2018 – Saturday 19 May 2018

Visual Arts South West

Working towards a South West where talented artists thrive, and a resilient and connected visual arts ecology that inspires more engaged and diverse audiences to value and advocate for its work.

Part of the Contemporary Visual Arts Network

Supported by: